7 Fast-Food Items You Thought Vegetarian

1. Burger King Impossible Whopper

Strict vegetarians should steer clear, as the meatless patties are cooked on the same grill as beef patties, much to the dismay of many.

2. McDonald's French Fries

You're going to need to skip the side of fries, as they are made with beef flavoring and are therefore not vegetarian.

3. Wendy's Parmesan Caesar Salad

parmesan cheese is made with rennet. Rennet, of course, being an enzyme that is found in the lining of goat and calf stomach.

While there are vegetarian forms of rennet that contain no animal products, those can make aged-cheese taste bitter." Which explains why many restaurants steer clear of the vegetarian version.

Sadly, this Italian classic is decidedly non-vegetarian if you have problem with rennet-made cheese—that delicious alfredo sauce is made with loads of parmesan cheese

4. Olive Garden Fettuccine Alfredo

 The bases of most soups are made using chicken or beef stock, and you guessed it, Panera's French Onion is no different, as it's made with a chicken stock base.

5. Panera Bread French Onion Soup

The yogurt in these smoothies is made with gelatin, which most vegetarians avoid since it is made with animal derivatives.

6. McDonald's Smoothies

that sauce is made with Worcestershire sauce. And fun fact: Worcestershire is made with anchovies and is therefore non-vegetarian.

7. Zaxby's Zax Sauce

7 Foods That Weaken Your Bones