On Passover, observant Jews refrain from eating leavened foods or foods with leavening ingredients.
The yellow caps indicate that the soda is kosher, or fit, for drinking on Passover. It's made with Coke's original recipe of sucrose instead of corn syrup.
If you've perused the beverage aisle of your local supermarket lately, you may have noticed that some soda bottles are sporting yellow caps instead of their usual colors.
That's because the Jewish holiday of Passover is about to begin, and if you're a devoted foodie, you might want to grab a bottle before it disappears until next spring.
Year-round, Jewish organizations like the Orthodox Union work with companies to ensure that the food they produce meets kosher standards as detailed in the Torah and codes of Jewish law.
Jews observing the holiday of Passover refrain from eating anything categorized as chametz — leavened foods or foods with leavening ingredients made from barley, rye, oats
Wheat, or spelt — for the duration of the holiday. Eastern European Jews of Ashkenazi descent (which make up about 75% of the Jewish population) also avoid another category
Coke actually used to be made with sucrose (made from cane or beet sugar) instead of high-fructose corn syrup, but when the switch was made, Coca-Cola sodas became off-limits on Passover.
The caps are also stamped with "O-U-P," the Passover kosher certification symbol of the Orthodox Union. It's not just observant Jews who are grateful for Coke without corn syrup.